保华英属维尔京群岛办事处在波多黎各提请3起第15章案件

2019年9月,Colin Wilson保国武受一家在波多黎各成立的有限责任公司PR Capital LLC委任为三家英属维京群岛公司的共同清盘人,该三家公司为World-Wide Investment Services Limited、New Century Properties Limited及Heng Cheong Pacific Limited(统称 “公司”)。

在公司的四位无担保债权人(“债权人”)在波多黎各向美国破产法院申请根据美国破产法第7章将公司进行破产清算后,我方获得委任。债权人称其为据称的庞氏骗局的受害方,并指控公司为挪用资金的收受方,并随后利用该等资金在俄勒冈州购买了一处物业(“物业”)。

共同清盘人与美国(Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP)及英属维尔京群岛顾问合作(Forbes Hare),成功获得美国法院认可成为英属维尔京群岛清盘案中的外国代表(根据美国破产法第15章)。他们现将调查及追究公司在物业中的所有权及衡平法上的利益,并将变现所得分配给债权人。

这是在波多黎各的美国破产法院第一次提起第15章认可案件。

Borrelli Walsh BVI brings the first three Chapter 15 cases to Puerto Rico

In September 2019, Colin Wilson and Cosimo Borrelli were appointed as Joint Liquidators of three BVI companies, World-Wide Investment Services Limited, New Century Properties Limited and Heng Cheong Pacific Limited (“Companies”), by PR Capital LLC, a limited liability company incorporated in Puerto Rico.

Our appointment follows the application by four unsecured creditors (“Creditors”) of the Companies to the United States Bankruptcy Court in Puerto Rico for the Companies to be placed in to bankruptcy under Chapter 7 of the US Bankruptcy Code. The Creditors fell victim to a purported Ponzi Scheme and allege that the Companies were the recipients of misappropriated funds, which were then used to purchase a property in Oregon (“Property”).

The Joint Liquidators worked with US (Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP) and BVI counsel (Forbes Hare) to successfully seek recognition (pursuant to Chapter 15 of the Bankruptcy Code) as the US court-recognised foreign representatives in the BVI liquidations. They will now investigate and pursue the Companies equitable and proprietary interest in the Property and distribute the realisations to the Creditors.

This is the first time a Chapter 15 recognition case has been brought in the United States Bankruptcy Court of Puerto Rico.